2017 USPA Joe Barry Memorial Cup
Handicap: 20-goal
Teams Entered: 8
Where: International Polo Club Palm Beach
When: January 4 - 22, 2017

January 22, 2016: La Indiana takes the win 13-10 over Mt Brilliant in Sunday's USPA 20-goal Joe Barry Memorial Polo Tournament final, the 2nd high-goal polo tournament of the 2017 season at the International Polo Club Palm Beach. Mike Azzaro was named the MVP of the final and 'Africano', the gelding owned & played by Gringo Colombres was given the Best Playing Pony award.

La Indiana's Mike Azzaro (MVP), Jeff Hall, Michael Bickford, & Ruki Baillieu win the 2017 USPA 20-goal Joe Barry Cup at IPC.

Earlier in the day the Bobby Barry subsidiary cup was won by Coca-Cola 11-10 over Horseware/Tackeria. Tommy Collinwood was named the MVP and 'Superstar' ridden by Julian Lusarreta was given the Best Playing Pony award.
There were 8 teams entered in this 2017 tournament played in honor of Joe Barry. New teams joined veteran teams with great effort by all looking to claim the trophy. Be sure to follow us on Twitter @WellingtonPolo for updates on all IPC high-goal tournaments and at Facebook.com/WellingtonPolo for more in-depth up-to-the-minute news releases.
See below for Team Details, Schedules, results and photos of the games we cover!

Joe Barry Memorial Perpetual Trophy

January 22, 2017: Get your tickets early (through the IPC website)! Sunday on the Engel & Volkers field at 3pm features the USPA 20-goal Joe Barry Memorial Cup final at International Polo Club in Wellington, FL with La Indiana going up against Mt Brilliant.

January 18, 2018: Wednesday's Semifinals of the USPA 20-goal Joe Barry Memorial determined Sunday's 3pm finalists at IPC in a surprising twist. Unbeaten Tonkawa took on La Indiana at noon and was defeated and again in the 2nd semifinal at 3pm, the undefeated Grand Champions Polo Club was knocked out of the tournament by Mt Brilliant. Mt Brilliant and La Indiana will face each other in the final Sunday at 3pm at the International Polo Club in Wellington, FL.

2017 Joe Barry Cup & Bobby Barry Subsidiary
Schedule & Results

Wednesday, January 4

La Indiana def Villa del Lago 11-8

Tonkawa def. Mt. Brilliant 19-11

Thursday, January 5

Grand Champions Polo Club def. Goose Creek 12-11

Postage Stamp Farm def Coca Cola 13-12 in OT

Saturday, January 7

Tonkawa def. La Indiana 13-12

POSTPONED: Villa del Lago vs. Mt. Brilliant - POSTPONED

Sunday, January 8

Goose Creek def. Postage Stamp Farm 11-7

Grand Champions Polo Club def. Coca Cola 10-6

Wednesday, January 11

Tonkawa def. Villa del Lago 11-7

Mt. Brilliant def. La Indiana 14-10

Thursday, January 12

Grand Champions def. Postage Stamp Farm 8-6

Goose Creek def. Coca Cola 11-6

Friday, January 13
Mt. Brilliant def Villa del Lago 12-7 (Resumed game of Jan 7)

Sunday, January 15 “Mini-Quarters”

Mt Brilliant def Postage Stamp Farm 12-9
La Indiana def Goose Creek Farm  12-10

Wednesday, January 18 Semifinals

Semifinal 1: La Indiana def Tonkawa 10-6

Semifinal 2: Mt Brilliant def Grand Champions 11-10

Up Next:
Sunday, January 22 FINALS

Bobby Barry Cup Final
Coca-Cola defeated Horseware/Tackeria 11-10

Final of the Joe Barry Cup

 La Indiana defeats Mt Brilliant 13-10

Follow us on Twitter @ WellingtonPolo

Wellington Polo Calendar


Bracket I

Villa del Lago:
Jim Zenni, Hilario Ulloa, Agustin Obregon, Carlucho Arellano

La Indiana:
Michael Bickford, Jeff Hall, Mike Azzaro, Ruki Baillieu

Mt. Brilliant:
Bo Goodman, Jason Crowder, Santiago Chavanne, Julian Daniels

Jeff Hildebrand, Sapo Caset, Costi Caset, Facundo Obregon

Bracket II

Gillian Johnston, Julian de Lusarreta, Julio Arellano, Del Walton

Goose Creek:
Maureen Brennan, Peke Gonzalez, Mariano Gonzalez, Tomas Garcia del Rio

Grand Champions:
Grant Ganzi, Inaki Laprida, Nic Roldan, Juancito Bollini

Postage Stamp:
Annabelle Gundlach, Brandon Phillips, Mariano Aguerre, Kris Kampsen

2016 winners of the Joe Barry Memorial Cup, Palm Beach Illustrated/TechnoGym

Back to main IPCPB 2016-2017 Page