80-Goal Partido del Siglo XXI
When: November 15, 2015
Where: Palermo Buenos Aires, Argentina

November 15, 2015:
Coronel Suarez and Santa Ana tied 9-9 in the 80-goal Partido del Siglo XXI.
All Photos by Oscar Fridman for Wellington Polo

The Partido del Siglo XXI Cup.

November 15, 2015 The "Partido del Siglo XXI" 80-goal match between Colonel Suarez & Santa Ana marked the 40th anniversary of the first 80 goal game in the history of Argentine polo, 1st played on November 1, 1975 - El Trebol vs. Venado Tuerto, two legendary teams in our sport. All 10-goalers met on on field 1 of the Argentine Polo Field in Palermo for a friendly competition of the highest level of polo played. Facundo Pieres who was scheduled to play had been replaced by Eduardo Heguy due to an injury received before the game. Polito Pieres was the top scorer of a fun game scoring 5 goals and it was Juan Martin Nero who with a long shot on goal, made the final score tying up the game in the final moments.

Adolfo Cambiaso with a hook attempt on Gonzalo Pieres in the 80-goal Partido del Siglo XXI.

The game was held in aid of educational Occurrentes Scholas-entity public good, driven by the initiative of Pope Francisco, which links technology, art and sport to promote social integration and culture meeting.

Polito Pieres of the Colonel Suarez team with Francisco Dorignac and Jose Maria del Corral Scholas Ocurrentes with Miguel Novillo Astrada of the Colonel Suarez Team.

After a speech given by the president of the AAP, Francisco E. Dorignac, the award ceremony commenced. All high-level polo players of Argentina from 1960 to present received a commemorative medal honoring their skills & achievements in this sport.
Juan Carlos Harriott (h), winning the most Argentine Open Championships (20 titles) and the first Olimpia de Oro in 1976, was the most applauded in an emotionally charged ceremony.

Jose Maria del Corral Scholas Ocurrentes, Juan Martin Nero, Adolfo Cambiaso, and Francisco Dorignac.

David Stirling's Dolfina Buenaventura received the Best Playing Pony honors for the 80-goal Partido del Siglo XXI match.

Juan Carlos Harriott and Adolfo Cambiaso

November 15, 2015, Top polo players of Argentina from 1960 to present receiving commemorative medals. Click Photo for larger image

The Teams:

The Colonel Suarez Team in red and the Santa Ana team in Blue for the 80-goal Partido del Siglo XXI

Coronel Suarez:
Adolfo Cambiaso (h) 10 (3 goals), David Stirling (h) 10 (2), Miguel Novillo Astrada 10 (4) and Facundo Pieres 10 (who was injured prior to the match & was replaced by Eduardo Heguy 9) . Total: 40. Alternate: Ignacio Heguy 9.

Team Colonel Suarez: Adolfo Cambiaso, David Stirling, Miguel Novillo Astrada & Eduardo Heguy (replacing Facundo Pieres).

Santa Ana:
Pablo Pieres 10 (5, one penalty), Gonzalo Pieres (h) 10 (1), Pablo Mac Donough 10 (2) and John M. Nero 10 (1). Total: 40 Substitutes: Sebastian Merlos 9 and Ignacio Novillo Astrada 9.

Judges: Ernesto Trotz and John I. Merlos.
Referee: Agustin Merlos.

Photographer Oscar Fridman with Juan Carlos Harriott. This match has a special significance to Oscar as he attended & photographed the 1st match in 1975.

Back to Main Argentina Polo Page