76th Tortugas Open 2016
When: September 27th - October 15, 2016
Where: Tortugas Country Club,
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Handicap: 33-40 High-Goal Polo

Wellington Polo offers teams, schedules, results & photos (by Oscar Fridman & Pablo Silva for Oscar Fridman / Wellington Polo) for the 76th Tortugas Open, 1st of the Triple Crown Polo tournaments played at Tortugas Country Club in Buenos Aires, Argentina. La Dolfina once again proves their might, defeating Ellerstina in the final and defending their title to become 4x Champions!

The Emilio Anchorena Perpetual Trophy & Awards of the Tortugas Open Polo Tournament

Follow us on Twitter @WellingtonPolo

Polo Calendar:

Photo Slideshow of the 76 Tortugas Open Final

Final: October 16, 2016 (Sunday) : Now 4x Champions, The La Dolfina Polo Team defeated Ellerstina 18-12 in an exciting final of the 76 Tortugas Open, proving once again the might of this awesome team! Adolfo Cambiaso was awarded the MVP scoring 11 goals total and his mare, La Dolfina Cuartetera Clone 06 was named Best Playing Pony and made history as the 1st cloned horse to be given the award.

Oct 16, 2016 La Dolfina Polo Team: Juan Martin Nero, Pablo MacDonough, David Stirling Jr., & MVP Adolfo Cambiaso raising the
Emilio Anchorena Cup after their win of the 76 Tortugas Open Final.

October 16, 2016: Best Playing Pony of the Tortugas Open final, 'La Dolfina Cuartetera Clone 06', played by Adolfo Cambiaso,
and is the 1st cloned horse to be awarded the Best Playing Pony.

October 16, 2016: Adolfo Cambiaso in control of the ball for La Dolfina in the 76 Tortugas Open final against Ellerstina.

Round 3 - Semifinals:

October 9, 2016 (Sunday) 15.30: Zone B, Ellerstina defeated Alegría 11-9

October 9, 2016: Gonzalo Pieres of Ellerstina blocks Frederick Mannix of Alegria in the zone B semifinal. Photo by Oscar Fridman.

View the full Zone B Semifinal Photo coverage by Oscar Fridman for Wellington Polo:

October 8, 2016 (Saturday) 15.30: Zone A, La Dolfina def La Aguada Las Monjitas 12-5

Round 2: (Click Photos below for larger image views)

October 3, 2016 (Monday) 15.30:

  • Zone B, Ellerstina def Washington 16-5

October 1, 2016 (Saturday) 15.30: 

  • Zone A, La Dolfina def El Paraíso 15-5

Round 1: September 27, 2016 (Tuesday): (Click Photos for larger image views)

  • Zone A, La Aguada Las Monjitas def El Paraíso 11-10

  • Zone B, Alegría def Washington 12-11
Slideshow of September 27, 2016 Tortugas Open games, Zone A & Zone B


Zone A

La Aguada Las Monjitas: Alejandro Novillo Astrada 8, Eduardo Novillo Astrada (h) 9, Miguel Novillo Astrada 9, and Ignacio Novillo Astrada 9 Total: 35.

El Paraíso: Agustín Merlos 9, Ignacio Toccalino 9, Ignacio Heguy 9, and Santiago Toccalino 8. Total: 35.

La Dolfina (Defending Champions): Adolfo Cambiaso 10, Juan Martin Nero 10, Pablo MacDonough 10, David Stirling Jr. 10. Total: 40

Zona B

Alegría: Hilario Ulloa 10, Lucas Monteverde (h) 9, Guillermo (Sapo) Caset (h) 10, and Frederick Mannix (h) 8. Total: 37.

Washington: Diego Cavanagh 8, Cristian (Magoo) Laprida (h) 8, Facundo Sola 8, and Alfredo Cappella Barabucci 9. Total: 33.

Ellerstina: Facundo Pieres 10, Gonzalito Pieres 10, Nico Pieres 9, and Mariano Aguerre 9. Total: 38