54th Jockey Club Open 2018

When: September 10-?, 2018

Where: Jockey Club - Buenos Aires, Argentina

Handicap: 28-34

Wellington Polo provides the team details, results & semi-final / final photos by Oscar Fridman for Wellington Polo of the 54 Jockey Club Open, an important high goal polo tournament that precedes the start of the Tortugas Open, the 1st of the Triple Crown Polo Tournaments played in Argentina. See below for teams that participated in this 2018 tournament. For more information, please visit www.aapolo.com

The 54 Jockey Club Open Final - Date TBA (rescheduled from Saturday Sept 21, 2018) will feature Pilará Etiqueta Negra vs La Dolfina Brava I

September 15, 2018: Polo history was made as Adolfo Cambiaso (n), "Poroto", not only played with his father but at the age of 12 became the youngest player to debut in a tournament of high handicap. This surpasses the previous record of Nicolás Pieres who at 15 years old, not only played his first high-goal game, but won the tournament in 2006, integrating the team of Ellerstina with his father Gonzalo and his brothers Gonzalo (h) and Facundo.  The satisfaction was doubled for the Cambiasos, as they achieved the triumph of the semifinals with the La Dolfina Brava I team at field 1 of the "Alfredo Lalor" Headquarters of the Argentine Polo Association, defeating La Dolfina Valiente 10-5. La Dolfina Brava I advances to the final of the 54 Jockey Club Open scheduled for Saturday September 22, 2018.

Full Photo Coverage of the 54 Jockey Club Semifinal September 15, 2018:

Saturday Sept 15 Semifinal: La Dolfina Brava I def La Dolfina Valiente10-5.

Thursday Sept 13 Quarterfinal: La Dolfina Brava I def Chapaleufú17-5.

Thursday Sept 13 Quarterfinal: Las Monjitas def La Dolfina Brava II12-3.

Wednesday Sept 9 Quarterfinal: La Dolfina Valiente def La Ensenada9-7.

Wednesday Sept 9 Quarterfinal: Pilará Etiqueta Negra def La Cañada Angiocor – Daily Racing Form12-7.

Monday Sept 10: La Dolfina Brava II def La Mariana10-8.

Teams of the 54 Jockey Club Open 2018

Las Monjitas (36):
Facundo Sola 9
Hilario Ulloa 10
Guillermo Caset (h) 10
Julián de Lusarreta 7

La Dolfina Valiente (31): 
Rob Jornayvaz (h) 1
David Stirling (h) 10
Pablo Mac Donough 10
Juan Martín Nero 10

Chapaleufú (29): 
Alberto Heguy (h) 7
Pedro Falabella (h) 7
Juan M. Zavaleta (h) 8
Joao Paulo Ganon 7

La Ensenada (28): 
Juan Martín Zubía 7
Juan Britos (h) 7
Facundo Fernández Llorente 7
Jerónimo del Carril 7

La Cañada Angiocor-Daily Racing Form (28): 
Agustín Obregón 6
Ezequiel Martínez Ferrario 8
Sebastián Merlos 8
Jared Zenni 6

La Mariana (26): 
Juan Ignacio Merlos 7
Patrick O´ Dwyer 6
Juan Cruz Merlos 6
Manuel Crespo 7

La Dolfina Brava II (23): 
Agustín Marcos 4
Guillermo Terrera (h) 8
Alejo Taranco 8 (Gastón Laulhé 6)
Bautista Arrastúa 5

Return to Main Argentina Polo Page